Home again

It’s so nice to be back home again. I loved the places we visited, but I began to long for a chance to sit with my cats and gaze into my backyard. (At the moment I have two cats on my lap as well as my laptop computer–it’s a bit of a tight squeeze!)

Early mornings are my favorite time of day–especially if I’m up before my husband! I like to sit with a cup of coffee, read a little, perhaps write a blog post, perhaps read other bloggers’ posts, watch the birds outside and just enjoy the quiet.

I was also ready to come back home because Autumn is one of my favorite times of the year. I love the cooler weather, the changing leaf colors, getting ready for new beginnings. Autumn always feels like the time to start new things. I think it’s because school starts then and I was always excited for my own classes to start when I was a child and young adult and for my kids to start their classes. I love the planning for classes, buying new supplies and clothes, starting new classes, meeting teachers.crabapples

So far our trees aren’t changing color very much though our two crabapple trees in the backyard are full of little crabapples. So many trees were changing color during our trip I thought the trees in our yard would show crabapple-closeup~more color by now, but during our road trip we were further north and often at higher elevations. Since we moved here only a few months ago I don’t know the rhythm of our yard yet. That’s always something I enjoy finding out about in a new home!

What about you? Do you look forward to coming home as much as you looked forward to your trip? Do you love Autumn–or not? Is it a time for new beginnings for you? And have your trees started changing color yet?

Save

I love comments!

